Which countries have recognized a Palestinian state?

Recognized but Not Yet Admitted: The Palimpsest of Palestine’s Quest for Statehood

Palestine has been recognized as a state by the majority of countries worldwide, with 137 out of 193 UN states acknowledging its independence. However, there are some exceptions in Western Europe, North America, Australia, Japan, and South Korea. The declaration of a Palestinian state was made by Yasser Arafat in 1988 following the start of the first Intifada. Algeria was the first country to officially recognize an independent Palestinian state, which was followed by forty other nations including China, India, Turkey, and most Arab nations.

Africa, the Soviet bloc, Central America, and Latin America also joined in recognizing the Palestinian state. The Palestinians have been making diplomatic efforts on the international stage for years and have gained observer status at the United Nations in 2012 and became full members of UNESCO in 2011. This new status allowed them to join the International Criminal Court in 2015 despite objections from the United States and Israel.

Some European countries have recognized Palestine under certain circumstances while others have hinted at their willingness to do so in the future. Countries like Spain, Ireland, Malta, Slovenia and France have indicated that they may recognize Palestine under specific conditions or if certain agreements are reached between Israel and Palestine. These diplomatic moves reflect an ongoing impasse in resolving the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and have led to strained relations between some European countries and Israel.

Leave a Reply

FDA Approves AI Stethoscope Technology Capable of Detecting Heart Failure Previous post Revolutionizing Heart Failure Diagnosis: A New AI Technology Swiftly Detects Signs in Just Seconds
Downtown stadium vote elicits strong reaction from Crossroads business owners Next post Ballpark Bust: Crossroads Business Owners Relieve as Stadium Sales Tax Proposal Fails