Manufacturing, engineering and technology teachers recognized with awards

NEENAH (WLUK) — Six tech-ed teachers from around the state were honored, including three from Northeast Wisconsin.

Wisconsin Business World and Plexus hosted the inaugural Manufacturing, Engineering and Technology (MET) educator awards in Neenah Thursday.

The awards program recognizes Wisconsin high school and middle school teachers who have demonstrated a commitment to advancing manufacturing, engineering and technology principles in their classrooms, to ensure the state’s future workforce is equipped with the skills and knowledge necessary to thrive in Wisconsin’s industries.

The winners are:

High School Educators

  • 1st Place – Roy Ward – Webster School District
  • 2nd Place – Scott Christy – Green Bay School District
  • 3rd Place – Melanie Shimek – Manitowoc School District

Middle School Educators

  • 1st Place – Craig Cegielski – Eleva Strum School District
  • 2nd Place – Heather Kiefer – Slinger School District
  • 3rd Place – Jon Larson – Little Chute School District

Jon Larson, Manufacturing & Engineering teacher in the Little Chute School District says it’s great to be recognized for doing something he loves.

“My goal is to always give students opportunities and those opportunities come in lots of different ways; it’s opportunities to be involved with their curriculum, to experience business and industry partners, opportunities to further their education with dual credits, opportunities to be at places like Plexus and our other manufacturing partners,” he said.

Cash prizes were awarded to the winning teachers.

Previous post Devils blank Vikings to stay alive at state | News, Sports, Jobs
Next post May 25, 2023 — World of Warcraft — Blizzard News